Volkswagen Jetta/Bora
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Idle issue IM BROKE I NEED ADVICE!

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2009, 11:38 AM
Default Idle issue IM BROKE I NEED ADVICE!

Ok, so about a year ago I bought 95 volkswagen Jetta GL. It's a 5 speed, 4 cylinder 2.0 liter. When I bought it, it had about 103,000 miles and It was like 1800 dollars so I snagged it because Im a full time college student who commutes and Im broke as a joke. It's not in bad shape and it runs pretty much without fail. However recently it's been having some major idle issues.

For example:

I will be driving along and come to a long red light. While im stopped, in neutral (or in gear with the clutch pushed to the floor) the idle will start fluxuating anywhere from normal 800-900rpms to like 2000 rpms. sometimes it will go days without this problem and other times it will happen 15 times in a single day of driving. Usually it gradually increases to like 1500 rpms and just sticks there for a while and then suddenly drops back to 800-900 rpms.

I've taken it too one mechanic this far and he completely ****ed me over and ripped me off for hundreds of dollars and did absolutely nothing. I'm tapped out for cash right now and Im looking for anyone who might be able to lead me in a promising direction with this problem. I'm no mechanic but if I know the problem, I have friends that can help me replace minor parts such as O2 sensors and so on.

ALSO, my heat shield recently came loose from the chassis and I was wondering if I can just pull it off without risking a fire or damaging the body. theres about 8 inches of snow on the ground right now and it would be easier to pull it off untill it's dry enough out for me to put it back on securely.

Thanks for reading and any advice you have, I sincerely appreciate it.

-Josh

Old 01-28-2009, 03:49 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Idle issue IM BROKE I NEED ADVICE!