Volkswagen Jetta/Bora
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 Jetta Water Pump

Old 12-29-2006, 06:07 PM
Default 97 Jetta Water Pump

Hey guys - I'm a newb to the forum, so any help is much appreciated in advance. I just picked up a 97 Jetta Jazz with a buttload of miles. It's leaking coolant, and it seems like it might be the water pump. about4 years ago I replaced the water pump on my old A2 Jetta and it was a !*&#$, I mean like it took us 6 hours (of course, we didn't know what we were doing, so that made it take longer) Have any of you done it recently - is it any easier on the A3 Jettas? Of course, I need to see when the previous owner replaced the timing belt, I might need that done and then I can have them do the pump at the same time.

I also heard that VW has used plastic impellers on their water pumps in the past, any advice on pickingout a replacement? I'd like to avoid a plastic one if possible.

Old 12-31-2006, 06:52 PM
Default RE: 97 Jetta Water Pump

With alot of miles it makes me wonder if it the water pump is the reason. HOw sure are you about the water pump?? where is the coolant leaking from......i;m hoping it's not coming from the heads, if thats the case i would be worried...............

more information would help

cheers [sm=icon_cheers.gif]

Old 01-01-2007, 05:05 AM

ORIGINAL: ndenn002

With alot of miles it makes me wonder if it the water pump is the reason. HOw sure are you about the water pump?? where is the coolant leaking from......i;m hoping it's not coming from the heads, if thats the case i would be worried...............

more information would help

cheers [sm=icon_cheers.gif]