Volkswagen Jetta/Bora
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

88 Jetta starts, idles rough, but no accelerator response

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2009, 12:52 PM
Default 88 Jetta starts, idles rough, but no accelerator response

I just bought an 88 Jetta Slalom, it's in pretty good condition but does need a bit of work to get it running it's best, and recently I've run into some troubles that have me completely stumped since I'm very new to auto DIYing.

I don't know if this is related or not, but in the two or so weeks leading to the current problem there were a few times when my car randomly lost power when accelerating and felt like it might stall, but returned to normal after a few seconds. It then had one incident where the coolant light went on while I was driving, but I was close to my destination, got there, parked, and everything was fine the next time I drove it. A couple days after that incident, one of my lights came on (can't remember which one, sorry) and my car stalled, but started back up and drove fine with no warning lights coming back on. Another couple days later I stalled when trying to accelerate from a full stop and had a hell of a time getting the car to start again, but it drove fine once I did get it started back up.