Volkswagen Golf
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1995 Rear spindle/brake assembly questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2012, 10:45 PM
Default 1995 Rear spindle/brake assembly questions

Greetings:

I am new to volkswagen, but not new to doing my own wrench work. I don't know it all but I know just enough to get into trouble.

I have a friend who is on the verge of purchasing a 1995 Golf. At this point in time I cannot give you the engine info, but it only has 105k on it, which is obviously good for a 17 year old car.

The owner claims the only thing currently wrong with it is that the, and this is an exact quote, "rear left axle spindle and brake assembly need fixed."

I am asking for a general idea of what type of work is involved to repair or replace the parts in question. I realize that it depends on the extent of the work that needs to be done but any information at this point would be helpful.

As I said, I'm new to VW's, and this will be a learning experience for me as I'm doing it. I would appreciate clear answers to my questions; at least as best can be given considering the lack of information at this point.

Are the rear brakes and/or spindles common problems on these cars?
Are there any special tools that will be required?
Would a press and/or puller tools be needed?
Are there any special procedures I need to be aware of to disassemble/reassemble?
Are there any bearings that will require replacement?
Are there any measurements or clearances I need to be mindful of as I am taking it apart?
About how long [in hours] would this take to repair?

Also, are there any other problem areas or concerns that should be considered and evaluated before my friend makes a commitment to purchase the car?