the oil sludge problem '02 passat 1.8T

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2008, 06:47 PM
Default the oil sludge problem '02 passat 1.8T

Hi, I'm new to the formum and the VW world of cars. Mybuddy w/ a '97 Audi 1.8T has filled me in on some problem ares's of the engine and how to fix them. What my ?'s are is that i'm going next weekend to new hampshire to pick a '02 passat 1.8T from a family member. I then have to drive it back to Wisconsin. Not a problem. The problem is that he said the MIL light is on and that it spudders around when you get on the freeway or drive it for more than about half and hour. The car has 105K miles on it and he has owned it for only a year. He's knows nothing about cars and now has this problem, this is why i'm getting the car for only $1K. I should also mention its a GLS. Since he took it into a garage that he said he didn't think knew much about imports and they tol him that they needed to take the motor apart or replace it. I know that this is not the only way to get out sludge. I'm a pretty good mechanic, have worked on cars for years but, i know next to nothing about Vdub's. I'm taking my OBD2 scanner with me but i was just wondering if there was anything obvious to look for first. I'm also going to possibly flush the engine before i drive it and put on new filter and put in some royal purple . Any help is greatly appriciated.

Old 10-10-2008, 08:10 PM
Default RE: the oil sludge problem '02 passat 1.8T

sounds like you got it handled
thats the first thing to do
might have some bad coils in it sounds like a missfire

Old 10-11-2008, 08:43 AM
Default RE: the oil sludge problem '02 passat 1.8T

thanks for the reply

Old 12-29-2010, 03:00 PM
Former Sponsor

...we (Lubrication Specialties, Inc.) have a product tested by Navistar to remove oil build-up and sludge.

www.hotshotssecret.com
www.lubricationspecialties.com

Last edited by ChrisGabe; 02-18-2011 at 10:52 AM.
Old 01-20-2011, 07:41 PM