Famous 411 error but with a twist

  #1  
Old 03-03-2007, 11:32 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Famous 411 error but with a twist

so here is the deal, I got the famous 411 error code and secondary air system. I started checking all the components:

Air pump: wired straight to battery worked good
Vaccum lines all replaced
vaccum switch: jumped with battery clicked and allowed air flow
Air pump relay: jumped with battery clicked and got ohms through the terminals
Combo valve: No vaccum not air gets through, with vaccum air gets through


So with all of this i checked the wireing, to both the air pump relay and the vaccum switch i get 12 volts from the battery via the fuel pump relay if i'm correct.

both of these are suppose to get ground from the ECM to turn them on, but what i get from the ECM is not ground, what i get is + 7 volts.
You probably have the same look on your face that i had on mine.

I just want some second opinions on what this might be from, my next step is replacing the ECM but i don't know alot about Volkswagens so i thought i might pick someones brain with a little more knowledge on the subject.

I don't have a Vag-com but i'm going to try and find some one with it or buy one.

when i finally figure this out i'll let you all know, it might be a while though with school coming to the end of the term.
 
  #2  
Old 03-09-2007, 10:46 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default RE: Famous 411 error but with a twist

So I have pretty much determined that the problem lies withing the ecm. Is there a way to check the ECM? I' looking into the best place to buy a new, or used ECM, any suggestions?
thanks
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-2007, 03:44 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default RE: Famous 411 error but with a twist

So I figured it out, well at least everything is workng anyway. It ended up being the air pump relay, even though i tested it and it was working properly outside of the car, it was working intermittenly. As for the 7 volts and the Ecm I believe that was the compter checking that the circuit is correct, basically that everything is plugged in. If something unpluged you will get like a 1452 or a 1450 error code.
hope this helps someone in the future.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Market11
Volkswagen Golf
0
08-19-2011 03:23 AM
piyush123
Volkswagen Phaeton
0
10-26-2010 03:02 AM
Obie
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
04-23-2007 11:08 AM
onebadbee
Volkswagen Jetta/Bora
0
09-26-2006 03:58 PM
jetta02
Volkswagen Jetta/Bora
0
08-30-2006 02:16 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Famous 411 error but with a twist


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.