Volkswagen Forum - VW Forums for Volkwagen enthusiasts

Volkswagen Forum - VW Forums for Volkwagen enthusiasts (https://volkswagenforum.com/forum/)
-   Volkswagen Passat / CC (https://volkswagenforum.com/forum/volkswagen-passat-cc-21/)
-   -   2.0 Turbo Problems!!! (https://volkswagenforum.com/forum/volkswagen-passat-cc-21/2-0-turbo-problems-16552/)

gmonnin 02-24-2010 01:24 PM

2.0 Turbo Problems!!!

Hello everyone. I am not a mechanic and would be very grateful for any advice that would lead toward an "easy" repair for my wife's 2007 Passat 2.0 Turbo:

Previous problems with the 2007 car:
a. Head lights not moving (turn with car)
b. Xenon head lights replaced three times
c. Cruise control failed
d. Drivers side window quit working
e. Gas cap constantly reading "not shut" (12 service trips)
f. Fuses blown for auxilary 12V power
g. Rear brakes replaced below 40,000 miles???

Current Problems with some history:
  • Car received 40,000 service program (oil etc). No problems
  • Around 49,900 miles, the low oil pressure light came on, bells would ding and she had to pull over and turn car off. As she had so many other false lights and problems, she thought this was a false reading and drove home (she was only a mile from the house) and I checked the oil...BONE DRY! (Note: she was not due another service/oil change until the 50,000 mile mark).
  • We put a couple of quarts of the specified oil in the car and she took it to XXXXX-XXXXX the next day (now at 49,900 miles). Oddly, they told her it was completely normal for a car to burn ALL of it's oil between changing. They replaced ANOTHER xenon, under waranty, changed her oil and did everything recomended at the soon to be 50,000 mark. They also told her this would be "it" in regards to the waranty work (50,000 mile waranty would be over).