Volkswagen Jetta/Bora
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Girlfriend buying a Jetta, advice?

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2007, 07:47 PM
Default Girlfriend buying a Jetta, advice?

Hi all, I am new to the VW forums, basically just registered to get a little feedback here.
My girlfriend is getting rid of her high school cruiser (1997 Pontiac Grand Am GT) and is looking to upgrade to a VW Jetta. I love German cars, and therefore completely support her decision. I found two, both 5 speeds, with about 90K on them; one is a GLS, the other a GLS turbo. Do you have any suggestions of things I should watch out for? I like the sounds of the GLS turbo, with the added power. I also appreciate the configuration of a DOHC motor over the SOHC 2.0. What do you think? How fast are they really stock? I drive a lightly modified E36 325is 5 speed (intake, exhaust) as a daily driver, how would it compare? Thanks in advance!

Old 01-31-2007, 11:05 AM
Default RE: Girlfriend buying a Jetta, advice?

big difference, the T's will run man, i test drove both and couldnt put myself in N/A. gas mileage is better in the 2.0 obviously but if you can keep out of the turbo spool a little mileage isnt too bad in the 1.8. im speakin in reference to the hatches and not the jettas but i imagine it would be a similar story.
As for comparing to other cars, i have intake only done to my car and i pull stock M3's from a dig.
Hope this helps, oh yeah and what year jetta? i think it was around the end of 02 they started puting more power in them stock so you may want to check into that, it jumped from 150 to 180.
Maybe someone else here knows more about the jettas and differences.
good luck

Old 01-31-2007, 01:41 PM