new guy here

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2008, 02:59 PM
Default new guy here

i'm new to the forum and i know nearly nothing about vw's. however, i hate payin for gas on somethin thats gettin me 15 mpgs and i've heard some of these cars can be pretty quick while still being very fuel efficient. i'm lookin into gettin a Jetta but i'm not sure which model of Jetta. i've seen the TDI's get around 45mpg but i know nothing about any other Jetta like the GTI or VR6 or GLS or whatever. are tdi's the only diesels? are the diesels the fastest and most fuel efficient compared to the others from the factory? i'm just lookin for someone to break each one down briefly for me so i have a general idea about all this.

i know enough to be dangerous about the american cars (mustangs, camaros, vets, etc.) when it comes to mods and little stuff but i'm no mechanic. i had a mustang for awhile and loved it but it gave me nothing but problems and it didn't get anywhere close to 45mpg.

what kind of numbers do these cars put up at the dragstrip? diesel vs. gas? stock vs. modded?
thanks in advance

Old 04-16-2008, 11:48 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: new guy here

ok my 2000 Jetta VR6 is 174 HP stock. With my upgrades I think I should be close to 200HP now.

1.8T I think is around 165HP, but I know that the drag time is more for the 1.8. Dunno much about diesels, but the VR6 is a dual overhead cam, 2 valves per cylinder, offset cylinders.

Some have problems but some get lucky and don't have too many, just a few quirks. SO, First find out what you want to do...race?...drive around and cruise?...or just a car to get you around? Then that will tell you what you should be getting.

Old 04-17-2008, 12:33 AM

bagel,
thanks for the info. i'll mainly use it for the mpg's gettin back and forth to work, but i'd like to be able to make some jaws drop from people who don't realize how quick it is; show up some cocky idiots

i'm assuming the 1.8T is the GTi model?

have u run ur VR6 down the track?