black smoke question

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2008, 03:13 PM
Default black smoke question

I'm new to TDIs. I just got a 2002 golf TDI ( automatic) a few months ago and am curious to know more about the exaust. I'm not used to the black smoke. I'm not sure it is normal.

people are telling me that smoke is normal but I'm seeig a plume of black smoke or a burst of black smoke when i accelerate quickly.

The car has a quietly happy purring pop corn maker/tractor sound and seems very peppy, the gas mileage for in city was not seeming that great to me, it was 26 or 28 with my last fill up.

Befoe I got it, the mechanic had just replaced the fuel pump and changed out the fuel injectors before i bought it. He did say that the fuel injectors were supposed to be a newer type then the ones that were in it before so that might cause the engine to get more fuel...but is this plume of smoke typical has anyone had a similar thing happen after their fuel injectors were upgraded or is it something else unrelated?

Thanks you Sarah

Old 02-03-2008, 09:47 PM
Default RE: black smoke question

When you accelerate quickly, a heavy amount of fuel
is injected into the engine, It will smoke at that time, most
any vehicle will, but it should clear up quickly. If your
purchasing a poor grade of fuel it will be a little worse.
Most people will purchase the cheeper fuel thinking their
saving money, but their just kidding them selves. The
catalytic converter on the exhaust will also aid in making
the black smoke. Try a company owned Shell or Exxon
fuel and see if it helps. The fuel mileage for the auto
tranny sounds good to me. If the new injectors are an
up grade they could be pumping too much fuel into the
engine and that would also cause black smoke. All in all
black smoke is caused by fuel burning, and the exhaust
pipe on any car from about 1974 up will be black inside.
We would remove the catalytic converter back in the
early days and the tail pipe would clean up, however it's