Need help with my 1969 Beetle.

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2008, 11:32 AM
Default Need help with my 1969 Beetle.

Hi there. I am a new member. I just purchased my first Volkswagen on e-bay. It is a 1969 Baja Beetle. I have yet to see the car in person, but I am picking it up on Thursday. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...92776&rd=1

I am new to car restoration and I would like to make it 100% street legal, so I need some advice. The only thing it needs to make it legal is to have windsheild wipers. The previous owner said he "shaved" the wipers. What exactly does that mean? How hard is it to install a totally new assembly?

Another thing I would like to do is to get an engine cover for it, as it currenlty has none. I think the current engine/exhaust looks a little large for a standard cover to work, but could I crop an after-market one to cover 90% of the engine? Maybe not even use hinges, just lock pins?

Old 06-03-2008, 07:37 PM
Default RE: Need help with my 1969 Beetle.

All right, Let's start with your easier problem. The wipers. By looking at the pics, he didn't do anything to "shave" them other than put some sort of cover over them. You will have to look at it when you finally get it though. Usually "shaving" means they removed the mechanisms, filled the holes in (Sometimes weldind them over) and then getting it painted. This doesn't appear to be the case. It looks like they put a cap of sorts over the holes which should be easy to remove again. Then just go buy a book and instal wipers as instructed. The wiring is probably still in place.