Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

Supercharge or Turbo??

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2006, 03:40 PM
Super Moderator
Default Supercharge or Turbo??

My question is..What would give me better results, or overall what would be better, supercharge or turbo??? Some people complain about turbo lag, or supercharge doesn't have enough PSI. If I get a turbo, should I get single or twin?? Pully driven supercharge, I know I will need light weight pullys, but with both I will need to replace stock internals....pushrods, cam kit, valves maybe. Any insight on this would be helpful, don't wanna go wrong on this. Looking for any opinion, from anyone!!!

Old 08-23-2006, 11:31 AM
Default RE: Supercharge or Turbo??

Alright ill bite,
But know ahead of time i am no expert, and these are my thoughts and opinions based on what i have picked up. you know that bagel but others may not.
so turbo or supercharger?... that is the question.
It has been my understanding that a turbo would be better for a car that is starting out naturally aspirated.
Superchargers use the pulleys to force air in, which in turn uses up precious horsepower just to push the charger. you smell what im steppin in??? It has to waste HP in order to make more.
Turbos boost off the exhaust, which is an amazing invention... i think Alfred Buchi was on some good drugs when he came up with it in the early 1900's,
anyway... back to the subject at hand, turbos have the lag because it takes exhaust pushing the turbine to make boost, so when youre taking off, the boost will be kinda low until the exhaust catches up. But to be honest, once you learn how to drive with the trubo lag, you can almost eliminate it. and i dont know what the difference in a v6 and a 4 cylinder would be for lag, but i would guess you wouldhave less considering your car is puting out more power on its own.