New Member Area New to VWF? Stop in tell us about you.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 VW Passat Wagon 1.8T...is it the best decision

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2013, 09:40 PM
Default 2005 VW Passat Wagon 1.8T...is it the best decision

Hello all,

I am currently in the market for a used vehicle. And I have come across a 2005 VW Passat Wagon 1.8T that has really caught my eye. Although before making any decisions, I am really trying to figure out if this will be the best vehicle for my needs. I realize this is a forum specifically oriented around VW, so you guys know better than anyone about these cars. With that being said, I would greatly appreciate practical unbiased advice.

To try and briefly describe my needs. I am a wilderness photographer, and I go on many long (10,000 miles +) road trips on a regular basis. Often to remote places where being stranded could be a serious issue. I have owned a couple of SUV's and pick-up's in the past, and after all of the traveling that I have done in them. I have come to the conclusion that the higher clearance of an SUV or truck is not necessary at all. In addition, while 4wd/AWD definitely can help in some situations, it too is not completely necessary. So, I would like to get some type of wagon vehicle. This option would still provide me with the storage space that I require for transporting equipment/supplies that would permit me to live and work on the road for weeks at a time. While also allowing me to get manageable fuel economy. Basically, I need some type of wagon that is reliable, mechanically well built and overall durable.