Volkswagen Golf
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice re: potential vehicle purchase

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 04:23 PM
Default Need advice re: potential vehicle purchase

Hi all,
I am a college student and car enthusiast, looking to invest in a reliable, relatively gas-efficient vehicle. Would love it to be a VW Golf, but I have heard and read of the problems that these cars are sometimes plagued by. Looking for general information about these issues, as well as what to look for/as about when viewing potential cars. Currently considering a 2000 VW Golf...what do you know about this year? Any info would be great.

Old 03-21-2012, 09:18 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the forum. Name:  VWwelcome.gif
Views: 36
Size:  951 Bytes

Have a read in here to see which model you prefer.

VW TDI buyers guides

Old 03-22-2012, 09:03 AM

Thanks for the welcome and the information! Do you have any similar information related to the gas models? I currently own a TDI, but need to invest in a gas model. Also, I know that in the diesel vw's, replacement of the timing belt is not a sufficient enough repair and there are several other components that must also be replaced to sustain the integrity of the engine. Is this the case for gas models as well? Or does a simple replacement of the timing belt suffice?

Old 03-22-2012, 09:20 PM
Super Moderator

Sorry I don't have any info on VW gas models you would have to Name:  google.gif
Views: 34
Size:  2.0 KB those. It will depend on the age of the TDI when you needed to change the timing belt generally around 80k miles and a new tenssioner at 160k miles this is something you don't want to miss. The gas engines are longer depending on the year and model 120k miles for belt change.

Old 06-01-2012, 03:11 AM