Convertible top

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2016, 07:28 PM
Default Convertible top

So this is probably a dumb question but I am new to the idea of driving around a convertible. My old ragtop is super old and fragile and it needs replaced. However, I do not have the money to buy the whole replacement kit for it. Is it possible to just get the top vinyl and not have the insulation and headliner to save some money? I am cheap and just want something that won't get me wet in the rain like the current top I have. Any and all help will be appreciated.

Old 05-19-2016, 12:35 PM

Replacing the top is a well known discussion here.
IF you have the vinyl top on your Cabrio, I can give you some ideas.
YES, you can get just the vinyl top. The scrap yards offer used tops but having gone through the process of installing one, I can't imagine what condition that top would be in when you get it and it is already weathered, if you go that route, you better get it really cheap.
... MY vinyl top was 15 years old when it just came apart. LITERALLY!!
The shop said I had a good run with it, they don't usually last that long.
Repair is probably not a good thought. First the material is shrinking, brittle and will rip easily. They say if you treat your top, it may remain more plyable longer, I did treat it but I was at least a second owner so I have no idea what the previous owner(s) had done and it came from Florida.
.. .So lets talk repair... If you do repair, it will be termporary at best and will never look as good as the original install. You can't put too much tension on the old vinyl or it will rip, disintegrate seems to be a better term. You would also most likely need to reinforce the old brittle vinyl with some old jeans material underneath.
Find a sealant that you think will do the job, plenty of them on youtube show you different brands.