73 Beetle Carb Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2009, 08:40 AM
Default 73 Beetle Carb Question

Hey all, newbie here, just picked up a Sand Rail with a 1973 Beetle Engine in it, it has not ran in 6 months, Was going through it and found something I thought was Odd.

It has a 34-PICT-3 Carb, the arm that controls the upper butterfly swings freely. The arm has "stair step" cuts in it I would assuem to allow for different setting for Idle speed. Please comfirm my thinking, that the arm SHOULD NOT swing freely and should be SET in place.

Thanks for your help.
JNT

Old 02-27-2009, 06:07 PM
Banned

on the side of the carb there is a (should be a) circle with 3 flathead screws. this is the automatic choke.there is supposed to be a hot wire from the coil going to it but most people unhook this.
it is supposed to work like this: the moment that you turn the key an electromagnet pulls on a spring that is kind of a thermostat like device. if it is cold outside the spring will be shorter,(that butterfly you mentioned is your choke) causing the choke to close. it will not move until you tap the gas once. the steps on the linkage hold the butterfly open to whatever position the electric choke pulls it to. the colder it is the more closed the choke will be. if there is no wire you can use the stepped gauge to set the choke manually but as soon as you touch the gas pedal the choke will return to full open.
some times in the winter (when the wire was not there)I would have to crank the motor for a few seconds turn off the key then pump the gas twice. then walk back and set the choke to fully closed on the stepps then turn the key without touching the gas. let it run for a few seconds then rev it up a little and it should idle after that, if all else is good. the 34pict carb is so simple that it can make you feel like a master machanic once you have mastered it!
yes it should swing freely. incoming air will hold it open.