2003 VW Beetle Conv AIRBAG Light on all the time

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2008, 12:04 PM
Default 2003 VW Beetle Conv AIRBAG Light on all the time

My wife’s 2003 VW Beetle convertible Airbag light has come on and stayed on again, that’s to say we had it cleared about 3 months ago by the local dealer, and its back on again, we took it back to the dealer and they said it was probably going to cost in excess of $500 to find the fault and replace the part/s that were possibly causing the issue..

Well I aren’t up for spending that kind of money on a car that my wife uses for shopping and taking the kids to school, plus I know that his fault analysis is really a...

“Well we don’t know exactly what it is, so we will replace all the sensors, switches, wiring etc. and that’s going to cost you about $500..

I drove the car back and borrowed my buddies OBD2 code reader, I am an electronics design engineer with many years of experience and getting to the bottom of issues is sometimes my job, so i figured i'd have a go.. anyway here is my dilemma, the OBD2 reader scanned the memory and came out with no faults/codes, it looks to be scanning all the modules and I can clearly see the AIR module is scanned, the unit I am using to scan is “INNOVA CanOBD2” no part number on it as I can see. (cost $170)

I’ve read on several posts (googling) that only certain VAG scanners really work on newer VW’s, so question is, has anyone any idea if the tool I’m using is capable of reading and displaying all error codes from a VW Beetle of this year,also it would seem this particular fault is common on Beetles, to be honest she had this same fault on our Beetle in the UK, but ended upsellingit with the fault as the VW dealer couldn’t actually cure the fault.. crazy..and she wanted another!!

Any help, comments, questions would be great..

Thanks

Will (thedutydoctor)

Old 02-16-2008, 04:23 PM
Default RE: 2003 VW Beetle Conv AIRBAG Light on all the time